Ribbon Cutting - Downtown Farmington Jail Museum
Join us for a historic Ribbon Cutting as we celebrate the opening of the Downtown Farmington Jail Museum!
Located at 11 N. Franklin, this location was originally built in 1870-1871 and served as the St. Francois County Jail & Sheriff's residence. As one of the oldest operating jails in Missouri, the facility was retired in 1996 and a new, larger jail was built on Doubet Rd.
The building was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1996 and is a part of the Courthouse Square Historic District.
The upstairs of the building serves as a low-cost lodging location for visitors traveling along the TransAmerica Bicycle Trail. "Al's Place" was named after local businessman and bicycling enthusiast, Al Dwieza.
The City of Farmington and the Farmington Tourism Bureau are excited to unveil the new museum located on the main floor of the building, showcasing the rich history of our community.